Gluten-Free Ricotta Cheese Pancakes

ricotta 007

Now, try saying that ten times really, really fast…Okay, just kidding.

I don’t know about you guys, but this is how it is with me; there are certain recipes that get stuck in my head and until I find the time and inspiration to make them I pretty much won’t let go. Like a pitbull.

For the longest time I’ve wanted to make cheese. Any cheese. Butter would do as well but, economically speaking, it just doesn’t pay off. Unless I get my hands on some raw milk..but that’s another topic…

So, back to the cheese. I thought I’d start with something easy…like ricotta. With only two ingredients it doesn’t get any easier than that…and here they are:

  • 12 cups full fat milk
  • 4 tbsp lemon juice

Bring milk to a boil in a heavy pot. Turn the heat off and add the lemon juice. Let sit for a few minutes. You’ll notice cheese curds separate from the whey.

ricotta 003

Line a colander with cheese cloth and transfer the curds to the colander carefully with a slotted spoon.

ricotta 004

Tie the ends of the cheese cloth together and hang the ricotta to drain off excess liquid.

Makes 2 cups.

If you’re watching your weight (and your health), here’s a way to enjoy your morning pancakes with a little less guilt:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup yoghurt
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup ricotta
  • 1/3 tsp vanilla essence
  • 3 tbsp chickpea flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Mix all the ingredients together and pour the batter on a hot griddle or pan.  When the pancakes are done top them with your favorite sauce or fruit.

Now, with this challenge out of the way, I’m free to move on to the next. Would you like to know what it is…? Hm…maybe I’ll just make you wait until the next post. I’ll give you a hint – roll, fold, cool, roll, fold, cool, roll, fold… Any ideas?

~ by kissmyartichoke on October 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “Gluten-Free Ricotta Cheese Pancakes”

  1. How many pancakes does this recipe make? It looks great!

  2. Thank you Lisa! It makes about 5 medium-sized pancakes.

  3. My husband is the pancake maker in our house. I’m definitely going to share this with him. It looks delicious.

Leave a comment