Potato Stuffed Peppers

paprike 004

I  really do enjoy cooking with my mom.  I was feeling a bit under the weather the other day and, I swear, she knows it before I do. She beats me to it every time.  And for her, that’s a good enough reason to come over and pamper me silly. Forget chicken soup; just lock mom up in the kichen and listen to her hit the high notes with the pots and the pans.

She has, sort of, lost that touch for fine cuisine over the years, but she still manages to surprise with melt-in-your-mouth comfort food. Kinda like these stuffed peppers. Who knew such simple ingredients could yield pure love 🙂

Here’s the recipe for love:

  • 6-8 peppers
  • 4 large potatoes, peeled and grated
  • 2 onions
  • salt, pepper

Preheat the oven to 400°F (200°C). Start by removing the tops and the seeds of the peppers.  Salt them on the inside.

Finely chop the onions and sauté them until soft and translucent.

Add onions to the grated potatoes. Season with salt and pepper.

Stuff the peppers and arrange them in a baking dish.

paprike 002

paprike 003

Add 1/3 cup of water and a drizzle of olive oil. Cover them with tin foil and bake for an hour.

When they’re almost done, remove the foil and cook the peppers for another 20-30 min.

Serve warm. And eat with mom 🙂

~ by kissmyartichoke on October 7, 2009.

10 Responses to “Potato Stuffed Peppers”

  1. That looks like a greek food, my mum makes called “gemista”.
    Delicious, and so colorful!

  2. These look great — but I think the secret ingredient is you mom and the relationship you have with her

  3. Wow, sounds fab and really quite easy. I love when simple ingredients yield delicious results. I am excited to make this, or something like this with my twist 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. Oooh I’ve never seen potatoes inside of them but that sounds great! Thanks for the idea!

  5. I’ve never thought to use grated potato in stuffed peppers, but that sounds wonderful. I also like the simplicity of this recipe – sometimes 4 ingedients is all you need!

  6. These stuffed potatoes look really good! Everything is always better with mom.

    Very nice blog post.

  7. Thank you all for your kind comments.
    Like Velva said, everything IS better with mom. I recall this one episode of “Oprah” when a young woman was driving acros the train tracks and got hit by a fast moving train. As the train pushed the car forward, the young woman picked up her cell phone and managed to call her… mom!. Later on, when asked why she didn ‘t call 911, she said: “Well, mom can fix anything!”.
    Now, that’s the power of mom.

  8. these stuffed peppers sound delish! I like the pepper and potato combo 🙂

  9. Your mom is welcome to cook for me anytime…sick or not! These look sooooooo delicious. I would love for you to participate with me in Crock Pot Wednesday. Come share a slow cooker favorite. Thanks.

  10. those look really good. i’ve had stuffed peppers before but i’ve never heard of them with potato.

Leave a Reply

 
