Three-Nut Pesto (me being one)

mosaicc0b0f4b9cd548d1defef2e9a5d7e6e12827bba84

Last year I tried making pesto at home. I really don’t know why I waited so long! What was I thinking?? Clearly, I wasn’t…

Well, those who have tried making it know there’ s no looking back anymore…you can skip that supermarket aisle!

Thanks to my dear friend Z., I’m a proud owner of a beautiful pestle and mortar, however, I find it easier and better to just mix everything in a food processor. Here’s how you do it if you don’t have a mortar and don’t want to end up with an overly mushy pesto.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups basil leaves
  • 1 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 cup grated parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts
  • 2/3 cup walnuts
  • salt

Start by adding olive oil and nuts to the food processor. Pulse a few times. There should be some visible chunks. Add the basil leaves and salt. Pulse again. Mix in the grated parmesan cheese ( don’t puls ) and transfer to a bowl. Add more olive oil if  needed.

Now, how easy is that??

~ by kissmyartichoke on May 8, 2009.

3 Responses to “Three-Nut Pesto (me being one)”

  1. homemade pesto is where its at. Now I really want some pesto asap.

  2. I love homemade pesto :)))

  3. its great to go nuts once in a while..lol.
    the pesto sounds delicious n easy

Leave a Reply

 
