Semolina Milk Pudding

January.

What a bitter-sweet month it was for me. In the light of some unexpected developments in my life I find comfort in childhood memories. The other day I walked into a drugstore to buy razors and came out with a bag of semolina. I’m so weird sometimes I make myself laugh. I just couldn’t resist. It took me back to elementary school cafeteria. Compared to the shady risotto that was served ( I remember well – on Tuesdays ) and always seemed to end up on the walls, semolina pudding was a real treat.

So, when I saw the healthier, whole-wheat version of it on the drugstore shelf, I had to get some. We all need a retreat from time to time, if only to get us through the month. Sometimes, all it takes is a bowl of warm comforting pudding. In my case, it’ll take more than that, but it’s a good start.

  • 2 cups milk
  • 3 tbsp semolina
  • 1 1/2 tbsp maple syrup or some sweetener of choice
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder ( optional )

Pour milk in a pot and bring to boil. Add semolina and maple syrup. Cook for 3-4 minutes over low to medium heat, stirring occasionally.

Done!

Dust with cocoa powder and nom nom nom… No more excuses to skip breakfast!

mosaic69449191

~ by kissmyartichoke on February 3, 2009.

4 Responses to “Semolina Milk Pudding”

  1. This is awesome…in India we call it gehu ki kheer (gehu-means whole wheat and kheer-means pudding)…really tasty!

  2. sounds delicious .. Laila … http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  3. Thank you, Navita! I haven’t had semolina in years, it was a nice change from oatmeal and cereal.

  4. This looks great! I love that you used a natural sweetener!

Leave a Reply

 
