Spicy Cheese Rolls

On a recent trip to Italy I bought a big jar of condiments, basically a blend of dried parsley, flaked chilli peppers and garlic. It looked innocent enough so the first time I used them, I used a very generous amount. Well, when I sat down to eat my meal, it didn’t take much to break out in sweat! Don’t get me wrong, I like spicy food as much as the next person, but that was just a bit over the top. I did finish my meal ’cause that’s how I am, but I also learned to use them in moderation.

I made these rolls before but they always seemed kind of bland. I thought of the Italian blend and decided to add a kick to them. And it worked, minus the tears!

canon-030-1-2

For the dough, you can use your favorite bread or roll recipe. Flour the work surface. Use a rolling pin to form a rectangle, grate some cheese on top ( I used cheddar ) and sprinke with your favorite condiments ( oregano, basil, it’s up to you ). Form a roll and cut into 5-6 cm ( 2,5 inch ) pieces and arrange on a baking tray with that much space in between. Let rise for another half hour. Turn oven to 210 °C (410 °F). When the rolls have doubled in size place them on the middle rack and bake until golden, 20-25 min.

  canon-042-1

~ by kissmyartichoke on November 30, 2008.

5 Responses to “Spicy Cheese Rolls”

  1. These look awesome!!! The pictures are beautiful too; and what a cute blog name.

  2. Thank you Olga! You’re the first one to leave a comment on this very new blog!

  3. Those rolls look delcious!

  4. I can’t wait to try making these in our baking dishes. I love your photography, too.

  5. Mmmm, spicy and cheesy, what a great combo. These look terrific.

Leave a Reply

 
